Review: Crazy Thing Called Love by Molly O’Keefe

Title: Crazy Thing Called Love by Molly O’Keefe
Crooked Creek Ranch Series Book Three
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Imprint: Bantam
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: 370 pages
Book Rating: B+

Review Copy Obtained from Publisher Through Edelweiss

Summary:

In this poignant and deeply sensual new contemporary romance—perfect for readers of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Rachel Gibson—Molly O’Keefe proves that lost loves don’t have to stay lost forever.

Dallas TV morning show host Madelyn Cornish is poised, perfect, and unflappable, from her glossy smile to her sleek professionalism. No one knows that her iron will guards a shattered heart and memories of a man she’s determined to lock out. Until that man shows up at a morning meeting like a bad dream: Billy Wilkins, sexy hockey superstar in a tailspin—still skating, still fighting, and still her ex-husband.

Now the producers want this poster child for bad behavior to undergo an on-air makeover, and Billy, who has nothing to lose, agrees to the project. It’s his only chance to get near Maddy again, and to fight for the right things this time around. He believes in the fire in Maddy’s whiskey eyes and the passion that ignites the air between them. This bad-boy heartbreaker wants a last shot to be redeemed by the only thing that matters: Maddy’s love.

The Review:

Crazy Thing Called Love, Molly O’Keefe’s third installment in her Crooked Creek Ranch series, is an intense romance between Madelyn “Maddy” Cornish and Billy Wilkins. The sexual chemistry between this volatile couple is hotter than hot, but their unresolved and complicated history causes Maddy to keep an emotional distance from Billy. Thrown together when Billy undergoes a makeover on Maddy’s morning show, their passion proves irresistible. But when Billy wants more than a sexual relationship, will he find a way to breach Maddy’s defenses?

Maddy and Billy’s childhood friendship eventually turned to love and they married young while Billy was in the early days of his hockey career. Their greatest downfall was a lack of maturity that eventually leads to their painful divorce. Maddy and Billy are so afraid of being hurt again, both keep everyone at arms’ length and they devote themselves to their careers. When they meet again fourteen years after they split up, they discover that their desire for one another is stronger than ever and while Billy is willing to risk his heart again, Maddy is not.

Maddy and Bill’s turbulent past is revealed through flashbacks of key events of their relationship. These glimpses offer valuable insight into their marriage and subsequent divorce. The details of Billy’s abusive childhood are heartbreaking and explain his dedication to his career. It also gives readers a greater understanding of why he reacts to certain situations the way he does.

Ms. O’Keefe does not hesitate to put her characters (or her readers) through an emotional wringer and this is certainly true in Crazy Thing Called Love. Maddy and Billy are two extremely complex and wounded characters and their past and present relationship is quite tumultuous. It is sometimes frustrating watching Maddie refuse to let go of her anger towards Billy, but I could certainly sympathize with her reasons for it. Despite his gruff exterior and bad boy behavior, there is an air of optimism surrounding Billy and I loved the tantalizing peeks of the gentle and caring side of his personality.

Out of all the novels in the Crooked Creek Ranch series, Crazy Thing Called Love is my favorite. I was intrigued by Billy since he was first introduced and it was well worth the wait for his story. It is an wild ride that is full of emotion, passion and heartache, but the growth of both Billy and Maddy personally and as a couple makes it a satisfying journey. Be prepared for laughter and tears as this dynamic couple find that love is even sweeter the second time around.

Click HERE for my reviews of the other books in the Crooked Creek Ranch series.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

2 Comments

Filed under Bantam, Contemporary, Crazy Thing Called Love, Crooked Creek Series, Molly O'Keefe, Random House Publishing Group, Rated B+, Review, Romance

2 Responses to Review: Crazy Thing Called Love by Molly O’Keefe

  1. Timitra

    Love the cover…great review Kathy!

  2. Annette

    Really enjoyed the other books in the series. Will have to add this one. Thanks, Kathy.