Review: Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe

sheetsTitle: Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe
Boys of Bishop Series Book Three
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Imprint: Bantam
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: 370 pages
Book Rating: B+

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley

Summary:

Perfect for readers of Susan Mallery and Rachel Gibson, Between the Sheets is Molly O’Keefe’s final book in the Boys of Bishop trilogy, featuring a sizzling romance between a sexy motorcycle bad boy and the girl next door who can’t resist him.

After years of running, Wyatt Svenson has now parked himself in Bishop, Arkansas, trying to do the right thing and parent a son he didn’t even know he had until recently. Over six feet tall and packed with muscles and power, Ty likes to get his hands dirty, fixing his motorcycle at night and keeping his mind away from the mistakes he’s made. Then his pretty neighbor shows up on his driveway, doesn’t bother to introduce herself, and complains about the noise. First impression? She should loosen up. Funny that she turns out to be his son’s elementary school art teacher—and the only one willing to help his troubled boy. Ty needs her. In more ways than one.

Though Shelby Monroe is safe in her structured life, she is drawn to Ty’s bad-boy edge and rugged sexuality. What if she just lets it all go: her worries about her mother, her fear of heartbreak, and her tight self control? What if she grabs Ty and takes a ride on the wild side? “What if” becomes reality—intense, exhilarating . . . and addictive. But Ty wants more than a secret affair. He wants it all with Shelby. But will she take a chance and open her heart? Ty is determined to convince Shelby to take the biggest risk of her life: on him.

The Review:

Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe is an intense, heartbreaking and poignant novel that is also insanely hot and incredibly passionate. In this third installment of her marvelous Boys of Bishop series, neighbors Shelby Monroe and Wyatt “Ty” Svenson’s first meeting is a bit contentious. However, they easily set aside their differences for the sake of Ty’s troubled son, Casey. What they find impossible to resist is their sizzling attraction to one another, but when Ty wants more from Shelby than explosive sex, her troubled past makes it virtually impossible for her commit to a real relationship.

Shelby is a likable character but she is so closed off that getting to know her takes a lot of grit and determination.   Everything she is, everything she does, stems from her dysfunctional and abusive childhood. Peeling back her many layers is painful and watching her try to cope with her mother’s worsening Alzheimer’s is beyond heartbreaking. Shelby does not lack sexual experience but since she has never had a serious relationship, she is rather awkward when it comes to flirting and dating. Even after a very public sex scandal, no one sees Shelby as anything but sweet, prim and proper. So the fact that she uses rough, angry sex to cope with her frustrations comes as a huge shock.

Ty is a former bad boy who is struggling to be a good dad to his newly discovered son. Moving to Bishop is supposed to be a clean slate for both of them, but eleven year old Casey continues to act out and Ty is fighting his old urge to run from his problems. Ty is clearly out of his element with Casey but he does not allow his discomfort deter him from trying to get through to his emotionally damaged son.

While Ty is clearly surprised by Shelby’s aggressive approach to sex, he is an eager participant. Their sex scenes are raw and gritty and there is very little tenderness between them. Both use sex as their release valve and escape from real life, but Ty wants more from their encounters than Shelby but she quickly shuts down his efforts to get to know her.  Ty definitely gives more to the relationship than Shelby and no matter how many times she pushes him away, he never gives up hope that things will work out between them.

Between the Sheets is an emotional, complicated and messy romance that is unique and engrossing. Ty and Shelby are complex, vibrantly developed characters whose smoldering attraction leads to fiery, explicitly detailed sex scenes. It is another powerful novel of love and healing by Molly O’Keefe that old and new fans of the Boys of Bishop series do not want to miss.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

2 Comments

Filed under Bantam, Between the Sheets, Boys of Bishop Series, Contemporary, Random House Publishing Group, Rated B+, Review, Romance

2 Responses to Review: Between the Sheets by Molly O’Keefe

  1. Timitra

    Thanks Kathy

  2. Cindy DeGraaff

    Sounds good. Thanks for the review Kathy!