Review: Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence

facing musicTitle: Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence
Rosewood Series Book One
Publisher: Pocket Star
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: 250 pages
Book Rating: B

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley

Summary:

In this sizzling and hilarious contemporary e-book romance, pop sensation Ivy Hudson returns to her small town to face her ex. Only trouble is, she made her Taylor-Swift-like career with the hit song “Size Matters”—and the football hero has had to live it down ever since.

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters,” hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.

For fans of Kristen Proby and Colette Auclair, Facing the Music hits a perfect balance between small-town romance and big-time success. Follow Ivy and Blake as they fall back in love and figure out what does matter in the end…

The Review:

Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence is a such a fun read! A wonderfully unique storyline, delightful characters and laugh out loud humor are just a few of things that make this romance such an outstanding read.

Ivy Hudson’s relationship with Blake Chamberlain ended when she discovered him in a compromising position and in the aftermath, she channeled all of her hurt and anger into the song that launched her singing career.   In the years since, her numerous breakups have continued to inspire her most popular songs but her latest breakup song results in a major public backlash against her. Needing a retreat from the public eye and generate some positive publicity, Ivy reluctantly returns to her small home town to use her celebrity status to help raise much needed funds for the high school’s new gym. Much to Ivy’s dismay, Blake figures prominently in the upcoming fundraising efforts and the passage of time has done nothing to dim her hurt or diminish their smoking hot desire for one another.

Ivy is a wonderful character and it is such a joy getting to know the woman behind the successful career. She has never forgotten her humble beginnings and she is still very down to earth. Her anger and hurt over Blake’s betrayal have not lessened with time but she is able to put aside her feelings for the sake of the fundraiser. Despite her successful career, Ivy has a few insecurities that a nemesis from her childhood exploits at every turn.

Ah, poor Blake. His mistake in judgment all those years ago indirectly destroyed his career and he is just now finally beginning to bounce back when Ivy returns to town. He readily admits that Ivy’s anger and hurt are justified but he also unfairly blames her for his football career crashing and burning. When he and Ivy can no longer avoid one another, they have a long overdue discussion about their notorious past and agree to leave the past behind.

The reconciliation between Ivy and Blake does not happen overnight and this makes the resolution of their past more believable. In the beginning of the story, they are both a little immature but over the course of the story, they each do some much needed growing up. This leads to a deeper connection between them as they get to know one another again. Their romance has a few bumps along the way when an adversary continually sabotages Ivy’s self-confidence and Ivy reverts to old behavior instead of talking things out with Blake. The part of the storyline with the vindictive foe takes a little too long to resolve and eventually becomes repetitious.

Facing the Music is a very entertaining novel with an all star cast of engaging characters, plenty of Southern charm and an exceptional storyline. The romance between Ivy and Blake is playful, flirty and quite sensuous and their banter is quite humorous. Overall, it is a thoroughly enjoyable story and fans will be thrilled to discover Andrea Laurence plans to revisit the small town of Rosewood in the very near future.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

2 Comments

Filed under Andrea Laurence, Contemporary, Facing the Music, Pocket Star, Rated B, Review, Romance, Rosewood Series

2 Responses to Review: Facing the Music by Andrea Laurence

  1. Timitra

    Thanks for the review Kathy

  2. Cindy DeGraaff

    Thanks for the review!