Tour Stop, Excerpt & Giveaway: Prima Donna by Laura Drewry

prima donnaTitle: Prima Donna by Laura Drewry
Publisher: Loveswept
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: 292 pages

Summary:

In USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry’s witty, sizzling, and tender romance for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, a woman who can’t slow down discovers that the perfect guy is in hot pursuit.

Even when her hair salon goes under and she’s on the brink of breaking, Regan Burke keeps her “I’m just fine” attitude. She’s had a tough life, coping with a difficult family and keeping her act together . . . barely. Right now, she just needs a job, any job, so she can pay her mother’s medical bills. It’s the exact wrong time for Carter Scott to come into her life—and to be so damn sexy, so distracting, and so determined to get close.

Carter isn’t looking for anything serious—his heart belongs to the kids who depend on his pediatric practice—but something about Regan makes him reconsider. Maybe it’s the scars she hides so well, the secrets she can’t share. Carter knows all about that kind of pain, and he wants to help. But offering Regan a job in his office only makes things worse, even if their chemistry is off the charts. Lucky for them both, Carter isn’t about to let go of love without a fight.

Add to Goodreads.

Purchase Links: Amazon * B&N * iTunes


Excerpt

He was standing far too close, so she stepped back and reached for the broom, which she immediately jabbed toward his scuffed boots to get him out of the way. He wrapped his hand around the broom handle, but didn’t try to pull it out of her hands; just stopped her from ignoring him.

“One drink.” He inched a little closer, crowding her, but Regan just tightened her fingers around the broom handle above his and swallowed.

The more she thought about turning her beloved salon into a mobile unit or, worse, going to work at a thankless minimum wage job, the more she wanted another good stiff drink. And if that drink was with a no-strings-attached kind of guy like Carter, who smelled so amazing (some crazy good mix of shampoo and leather), then more’s the better as far as she was concerned.

It was tempting, no question, but the reality was the sooner she got up to Jayne’s, the sooner she could leave.

After a long moment, Regan finally blinked and sighed softly. “How ’bout you ‘buy’ me a drink at Jayne’s? If we don’t get there soon, she’s going to send out the hounds.”

It took a few seconds before he finally nodded. “Yeah, she would, too.”

He released the broom and stepped around her to grab his jacket off the sink. With slow, deliberate motions, he shrugged into it and zipped it up. “What do I owe you?”

“On the house.” She couldn’t help grinning at the job she’d done. As good-looking as he was before, he was freakin’ hot now. Like Mr. October Fireman hot.

“No, come on . . .” He pulled a couple twenties out of his pocket and held them out, but she shook her head.

“Keep it.” She refused to take the money, even when he pushed it at her again. “Take me for a spin on your bike one day and we’ll call it even.”

The half grin was back, cockier than ever. “You got it.”

What the hell was she thinking? She’d never been on a motorcycle before—and up until the very second the words spilled out of her mouth, she’d never even considered getting on one.

“It was good to see you.” He backed up as he spoke and bumped into the door before he managed to unlock it and push it open, grinning all the while. “Meet you up there?”

“Yeah. I’m just going to, um . . .” She thumbed over her shoulder. “Clean up.”

They stared at each other for a long second, his smile kind of goofy as his fingers tapped against the door handle.

“Right. Okay. Thanks for the cut.”

“My pleasure.” She cleared her throat and leaned against the broom handle, staring out into the darkness long after he climbed onto his bike and rode away.


Author Bio

drewryLaura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

Author Links: Website * Facebook * Twitter * Goodreads


Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the rest of the tour HERE.

Prima tb

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Tour, Contest, Excerpt

4 Responses to Tour Stop, Excerpt & Giveaway: Prima Donna by Laura Drewry

  1. Cindy DeGraaff

    Thanks for the blog stop, excerpt and giveaways!

  2. Timitra

    Thanks for sharing the excerpt

  3. Thank you so much for being part of the PRIMA DONNA blog tour! 🙂

  4. Thank you for hosting today!