Review: The First Time We Met by Pippa Croft

first timeTitle: The First Time We Met by Pippa Croft
Oxford Blue Series Book One
Publisher: Penguin
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic, New Adult, Romance
Length: 363 pages
Book Rating: B

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley

Summary:

The First Time We Met is the first novel in the sizzling new Oxford Blue romance series from Pippa Croft.

Lauren and Alexander’s journey continues in The Second Time I Saw You and Third Time Lucky, which are both available to pre-order in ebook now.

When US Senator’s daughter Lauren Cusack arrives at the enchanting Wyckham College of Oxford University, she hopes to mend her broken heart by throwing herself into her studies.

But then English aristocrat Alexander Hunt walks into her life and everything changes. Handsome, brooding, and with his own dark past to escape, Alexander is exactly what Lauren doesn’t need – but she finds herself helplessly drawn towards him.

Both Alexander and Lauren know that they should stay away from each other . . . but sometimes desire is so powerful that it conquers all else.

The First Time We Met is the first novel in Pippa Croft’s Oxford Blue Series. Fans of E L James, Tammara Webber and Samantha Young will love this compelling romance series.

The Review:

The First Time We Met is the first romance in Pippa Croft’s erotic New Adult Oxford Blues series. This first installment in the three book series introduces American college student Lauren Cusack and aristocrat Alexander Hunt and it is a very steamy beginning to their relationship.

Lauren is intrigued by Alexander at first sight and her interest is further piqued by the enigmatic man each time their paths cross.  However, she is not interested in getting involved in a relationship, so she resists his rather ardent pursuit. But their passion is too irresistible to ignore for long and she and Alexander are soon engaged in a scorching hot romance. But Alexander’s secrets and their class differences quickly come between them.

Lauren is a strong female lead and although she is in her early twenties, she is pretty mature. She can hold her own in social settings due to her background as a senator’s daughter. She tries to be proper and polite, but she is no pushover. When the situation warrants it, Lauren is more than capable of defending herself and she is quite adept at verbal sparring.

Alexander is a very compelling hero and since he is a bit older than Lauren, he has more life experience. He can be a bit overbearing and arrogant, but considering he is British nobility, that is to be expected. While he adheres to some old traditions, he is not just sitting on the sidelines waiting to inherit his title. Much to his father’s dismay, Alexander has as successful Army career in Special Forces. He has a bit of a tragic past and while he is not very forthcoming, Alexander does give up just enough information to satisfy Lauren (and the reader’s) curiosity.

While the sex is definitely off the charts smokin’ hot, their relationship is troubled. Alexander’s secrets quickly come between them but there is plenty of conflict from outside sources as well. Alexander’s slimy cousin Rupert baits Lauren at every turn and he tries to turn Alexander against her as well. Lauren is confronted with someone from Alexander’s past and their encounters bring out a lot of Lauren’s insecurities. But probably one of the biggest obstacles to any future for Alexander and Lauren are Alexander’s father’s expectations for his heir. His relationship with his father is tempestuous, but Alexander also respects the traditions that are part of his heritage and it will be fascinating watching how this part of the storyline plays out.

Phillipa Croft concludes The First Time We Met with a cliffhanger ending that will leave readers anxiously awaiting the next book in the Oxford Blues series. It will be interesting to see what she has planned next for this extremely passionate couple!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

2 Comments

Filed under Contemporary, Erotic, New Adult, Oxford Blue Series, Penguin, Pippa Croft, Rated B, Review, Romance, The First Time We Met

2 Responses to Review: The First Time We Met by Pippa Croft

  1. Timitra

    Thanks for the review and author intro Kathy

  2. Cindy DeGraaff

    Thanks for the review, Kathy!