Review: Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’Keefe

everything unsaid Title: Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’Keefe
Everything I Left Unsaid Series Book One
Publisher: Bantam
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: 352 pages
Book Rating: B+

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley

Summary:

Fans of Jodi Ellen Malpas, K. Bromberg, and Joanna Wylde will be unable to resist this sexy, deeply intimate tale of a woman running from her past, and the darkly mysterious man who sets her free.

I didn’t think answering someone else’s cellphone would change my life. But the stranger with the low, deep voice on the other end of the line tempted me, awakened my body, set me on fire. He was looking for someone else. Instead he found me.

And I found a hot, secret world where I felt alive for the first time.

His name was Dylan, and, strangely, he made me feel safe. Desired. Compelled. Every dark thing he asked me to do, I did. Without question. I longed to meet him, but we were both keeping secrets. And mine were dangerous. If I took the first step, if I got closer to Dylan—emotionally, physically—then I wouldn’t be hiding anymore. I would be exposed, with nothing left to surrender but the truth. And my truth could hurt us both.

Review:

Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’Keefe is a scorching hot journey of healing and sexual awakening for lead protagonist Annie McKay. This first book in a two part series is a poignant and heartwarming romance that is quite captivating and will leave readers impatiently awaiting the release of the final book in the series.

Fearing for her safety, Annie flees from her Oklahoma farm and makes a new life for herself in a rundown trailer park in North Carolina. Almost immediately upon her arrival, she answers a cell phone left by the previous occupant and she is instantly enthralled by the voice on the other end. Their flirtatious conversations quickly turn erotic and with Dylan’s encouragement, Annie begins to explore her newly awakened sexuality.

Annie’s sheltered upbringing left her vulnerable and lacking confidence. She made a decision she soon came to regret but seeing no way out, she slowly but surely gave up pieces of herself in order to keep the peace. When things finally come to a head and she truly believes her life is in imminent danger, Annie works up the courage to leave. With no real plan in mind for her future, she is content to remain at the trailer park where she not only feels safe, but tentatively forms the first friendships of her life with her neighbors.

Dylan is quite enigmatic and his life remains shrouded in mystery. He enters Annie’s life at a time when she is ripe for change and although some of his requests are clearly out of her comfort zone, she refuses to let her unease stop her from acquiescing to his demands. Annie’s explorations of her sexuality are the impetus for changes in all areas of her life while the growth of Dylan’s character remains rather limited due to the narrow scope of their relationship.

Dylan and Annie’s relationship is very unusual and for much of the novel, it remains rather superficial since neither of them is willing to reveal their secrets to one another. There is no denying the sexual chemistry between them and the sex scenes are blistering hot. However, their relationship lacks an emotional depth since neither Dylan nor Annie reveals anything of importance until nearly the end of the novel.

Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’Keefe is a sexually charged novel of self-discovery and it is quite fascinating watching Annie gain confidence and become more comfortable in her own skin. The overall storyline is refreshingly unique and the characters are multi-dimensional and quite appealing. The novel comes to a rather dramatic conclusion that will leave readers anxiously awaiting The Truth about Him, the final installment of the two book series.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

1 Comment

Filed under Bantam, Contemporary, Everything I Left Unsaid, Everything I Left Unsaid Series, M O'Keefe, Rated B+, Review, Romance

One Response to Review: Everything I Left Unsaid by M. O’Keefe

  1. Timitra

    I loved this book!