Review: The Truth About Him by M. O’Keefe

truth aboutTitle: The Truth About Him by M. O’Keefe
Everything I Left Unsaid Book Two
Publisher: Bantam
Genre: Contemporary, Erotic, Romance, Suspense
Length: 337 pages
Book Rating: C+

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley

Summary:

For fans of Christina Lauren and Jodi Ellen Malpas comes the next novel in M. O’Keefe’s breathtakingly sexy series about a woman called into a journey of the heart, body, and soul.

We played our roles, told each other lies.

But now Dylan is no longer just a mysterious deep voice on the other end of the line. We’re face-to-face and our relationship is very, very real.

We still have secrets—but so much is crystal clear:

The thrilling danger.

The raw, naked desire.

The need to keep feeling the way he makes me feel. Forever.

Dylan is putting up walls, trying to keep me safe, but he can’t shut me out. He has seen my darkness and rescued me. Now it’s my turn, if only he will let me.

Review:

In The Truth About Him, the second novel in M. O’Keefe’s two book series Everything I Left Unsaid, the cliffhanger from the first installment is quickly resolved but there is plenty of peril ahead for Annie McKay and Dylan Daniels when someone from his past unexpectedly re-emerges.

When the previous installment ended, Annie’s past finally caught up with her with a very unexpected arrival. With her situation becoming more precarious with each passing second, a dramatic turn of events quickly closes the chapter on this part of her life. However, before she and Dylan can move forward with their budding romance, Dylan’s previous connection to a motorcycle club brings danger to the people around him.

With her past finally resolved, Annie really comes into her own during The Truth About Him. She is more confident and she does not hesitate to voice her opinions. She does not let anyone (including Dylan) make her decisions for her and although she sometimes is a little too stubborn, it is quite refreshing watching her stand up to her friends and neighbors. Annie is also willing to take a risk when it comes to matters of the heart and she does not hide her feelings from Dylan.

Dylan is still working to make peace with his somewhat dysfunctional family life. All of his secrets are finally revealed but forgiveness remains elusive. He remains uncertain about a future with Annie but despite his best efforts to stay away from her, he finds it impossible to resist their attraction. When things become rocky between them, Dylan makes a conscious effort to stop running from his problems and only then does he make progress conquering the lingering demons from his past.

While Dylan and Annie are more honest with each other in this installment, their relationship gets a little lost in all of the drama from Dylan’s past. There is still plenty of unadulterated lust between them and their sex scenes remain extremely erotic. However, the storyline takes on a suspenseful element once Dylan is reunited with a couple of people from the motorcycle club and there is quite a bit of danger surrounding everyone as this part of the plot plays out. In the midst of these story arcs, Dylan’s relationship with his father remains contentious and he is slow to relinquish his anger or offer forgiveness for the series of events that occurred between them several years earlier.

For the most part, The Truth About Him is an engaging and satisfying conclusion to the Everything I Left Unsaid series. The novel is well-written but the storyline is a little busy and somewhat slow paced. The main characters are fully developed and mostly sympathetic. All of the storylines featuring Dylan and Annie are completely resolved, but there are a few story arcs with secondary characters that leave a lot of unanswered questions. Hopefully M. O’Keefe has plans for future novels which will bring closure to these dangling storylines.

Read my review of Everything I Left Unsaid HERE.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

2 Comments

Filed under Bantam, Contemporary, Erotic, Everything I Left Unsaid Series, M O'Keefe, Rated C+, Review, Romance, The Truth About Him

2 Responses to Review: The Truth About Him by M. O’Keefe

  1. Timitra

    I loved the first but this one just didn’t work for me, I also hope she does more books cause I need answers! Thanks for sharing your thoughts Kathy

    • Book Reviews & More by Kathy

      It kinda went off track from the first book (probably would have worked better as just one novel instead of two). I’m hoping she plans to write books with the other couples that appeared in this one.