Review: One Moment by Kristina McBride

Title: One Moment by Kristina McBride
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Novel
Length: 272 pages
Book Rating: B

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through Edelweiss

Summary:

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below—dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

McBride delivers a novel of secrets that packs an emotional punch, perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.

Review:

One Moment by Kristina McBride is a poignant young adult novel about loss, love, friendship, secrets and betrayal.

Maggie Reynolds and her circle of friends, including her boyfriend, Joey, are  enjoying a lazy afternoon at the gorge when a horrible accident leaves Joey dead.  In the aftermath of his death, Maggie struggles to remember what happened right before Joey leapt off the cliff.  Much to her dismay, she soon learns that her seemingly perfect boyfriend lied about his whereabouts the night before.  As Maggie continues to try to recapture her memory of the events preceding his death, she cannot help but wonder what other secrets Joey might have been keeping.

As Maggie grieves for Joey’s loss, she is comforted by her memories of their relationship.  However, as more details about Joey’s life are revealed, she slowly begins to realize that she did not know Joey as well as she thought she did.  And if Joey was keeping secrets, is it possible their friends are too?  Why was Joey fighting with one of their friends the night before he died?  Why is their group of friends becoming splintered as they mourn Joey’s death?  Why can’t Maggie remember those last few minutes before Joey jumped from the cliff?

Part character study and part mystery, One Moment by Kristina McBride is a riveting young adult novel that is full of tension as Maggie tries to piece together what happened to Joey.  The cast of characters are vibrantly developed with very realistic flaws and imperfections.  The plot is surprisingly free from angst and although a little predictable in some areas, overall, it is refreshingly unique.   All in all, it is a very touching and thought-provoking young adult story that deals on some heavy topics without unnecessary drama.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

1 Comment

Filed under Contemporary, Kristina McBride, One Moment, Rated B, Review, Sky Pony Press, Young Adult

One Response to Review: One Moment by Kristina McBride

  1. Timitra

    Thanks for the review Kathy