Review: What We Find by Robyn Carr

Title: What We Find by Robyn Carr
Sullivan’s Crossing Series Book One
Publisher: MIRA
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Length: 352 pages
Book Rating: B

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley


Join Robyn Carr, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Virgin River and Thunder Point series, as she explores the healing powers of rural Colorado in a brand-new story of fresh starts, budding relationships and one woman’s journey to finding the happiness she’s long been missing 

Between the urban bustle of Denver and the high-stress environment of a career in neurosurgery, Maggie Sullivan has hit a wall. When an emergency high-risk procedure results in the death of a teenager, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a lawsuit—and experiencing levels of anxiety she’s never faced before. She knows she needs to slow down before she burns out completely, and the best place she can think to do that is Sullivan’s Crossing.

Named for Maggie’s great-grandfather, the land and charming general store at the crossroads of the Colorado and the Continental Divide Trails have been passed down through the generations and now belong to Maggie’s eccentric father, Sully. When she shows up unannounced, he welcomes her with open arms, and she relishes the opportunity to indulge in his simple way of life.

But shortly after arriving, Maggie’s world is rocked once again and she must take on more responsibility than she’d planned. Though she’s relieved a quiet and serious-looking hiker, Cal Jones, is willing to lend a hand, Maggie is suspicious of this mysterious man’s eagerness to help—until she finds out the true reason for his deliberate isolation.

Though Cal and Maggie each struggle with loss and loneliness, the time they spend together gives Maggie hope for something brighter just on the horizon…if only they can learn to find peace and healing—and perhaps love—with each other.


With What We Find, Robyn Carr’s newest series, Sullivan’s Crossing, is off to a fantastic beginning.  Set in Colorado, this first installment pairs neurosurgeon Maggie Sullivan with mysterious stranger Cal Jones and their unexpected romance is absolutely delightful.

When Maggie’s professional and personal worlds implode, she retreats to her family’s campground for a much needed break.  Immediately after her arrival, her beloved father Sully suffers a heart attack and what is supposed to be a short stay lengthens as she helps him through his recovery and pitches in as needed around the camp. Along with the regular employees, camper Cal volunteers to help them prepare the campground for the upcoming season. Although Maggie appreciates his help, she cannot help but be a little suspicious of the enigmatic outsider. While Cal does not reveal much information about his past, Maggie slowly begins to trust him and their friendship slowly turns romantic. With both of them at a crossroads in their lives, will their love affair survive once summer ends?

Emotionally depleted and somewhat depressed, Maggie is in desperate need of a break when she returns to Sullivan’s Crossing.  Although she is a talented and highly competent neurosurgeon, her career is unsettled due to an impending court case  and her partners’ misconduct.  Her personal life is in shambles following a heartbreaking loss and the abrupt end to her relationship with another doctor.  Maggie loves performing surgery and helping her patients but the business aspect of her job is rather draining.  She is somewhat in limbo as she tries to decide what she wants both professionally and personally and her unexpected sabbatical provides her the opportunity to reconnect with Sully while at the same time deciding what she wants for her future.

Cal is friendly and well-liked by everyone at the campground but he is very close-mouthed about his past.  He reveals just enough to alleviate Maggie’s qualms but he easily deflects her more in-depth questions.  Despite his reticence to talk about himself, Cal is always upfront and honest with Maggie about his intentions and plans. After re-evaluating his priorities and coming to term with a tragic loss, Cal is ready to move forward but he still remains uncertain exactly what comes next for not only himself, but his relationship with Maggie.

Despite Maggie’s initial doubts and misgivings about Cal, the two quickly form an easygoing friendship.  Their romance is slow-growing but passionate and free from conflict despite their uncertain futures. They are very supportive of one another as they talk through their problems and they respect one another’s boundaries.  When Cal begins to pull away from her, Maggie does not hesitate to confront him when doubts begin to creep in.

What We Find is a leisurely paced novel with an engaging storyline, a picturesque setting and a marvelous cast of characters.  Maggie and Cal are well-developed and likable protagonists with realistic flaws and true to life issues to overcome.  Sullivan’s Crossing is a delightful location and Robyn Carr brings both the locale and its residents vibrantly to life.  An enchanting romance that will leave readers impatiently awaiting the next installment in the Sullivan’s Crossing series.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


Filed under Contemporary, Harlequin, Mira, Rated B, Review, Robyn Carr, Romance, Sullivans Crossing Series, What We Find

3 Responses to Review: What We Find by Robyn Carr

  1. I really liked it and hope the next book in the series isn’t too far off.

  2. Timitra

    Thanks for the review Kathy