Category Archives: DM Quincy

Review: Murder in Bloomsbury by D.M. Quincy

Title: Murder in Bloomsbury by D.M. Quincy
Atlas Catesby Series Book Two
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Genre: Historical, Mystery
Length: 304 pages
Book Rating: B

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley

Summary:

Acclaimed author D. M. Quincy is back with a second captivating mystery as adventurer Atlas Catesby must put aside his own feelings for Lady Lilliana as they work together to get justice for someone she holds dear.

Aristocratic adventurer Atlas Catesby has spent the last year trying to forget Lady Lilliana Warwick, but when she reappears in his life imploring him to help her solve a murder, Atlas feels compelled to say yes.

The ner’re-do-well brother of Lilliana’s maid died of arsenic poisoning. Authorities are ruling his death an accident, but his sister suspects he was murdered. As Atlas and Lilliana investigate, they discover that the victim had a mysterious lover—a high-born lady he threatened with scandal after she spurned him. When they finally uncover her shocking true identity, the case blows wide open and it turns out there is a whole string of women who had reason to kill the handsome charmer. Now, as Atlas fights his growing feelings for Lilliana, they must work together to catch the assassin before the killer gets to them first.

Perfect for fans of Charles Finch and C. S. Harris, Murder in Bloomsbury is the magnificent second Atlas Catesby mystery.

Review:

The second installment in D.M. Quincy’s Atlas Catesby series, Murder in Bloomsbury is a beguiling historical mystery.

Atlas Catesby has not been home long from his latest travels when he unexpectedly teams up with Lady Roslyn Lilliana Sterling Warwick to investigate the death of Gordon Davis, the brother of Lilliana’s maid, Tacy.  Gordon died from an overdose of arsenic and his death has been ruled accidental.  However, there are enough inconsistencies surrounding his death that Atlas agrees there is chance foul play might be involved, so he and Lilliana begin their investigation.

Atlas quickly discovers that Gordon had no shortage of enemies. He was incredibly good looking and he was well liked by the ladies. He definitely had aspirations of rising above his lower class status and he had no trouble turning the heads of aristocratic young women. Atlas also learns that Davis lost more than a few positions over his improper relationships. He also hears a rumor about Gordon’s ongoing romance with a married woman whom he supposedly truly loved.  He and Lilliana quickly determine that Gordon was an indiscriminate lover who did not care if he ruined the young ladies’ reputations and he was quick to use blackmail to line his pockets.

In between the investigation, Atlas tries to keep his distance from Lilliana due to their complicated history together. He holds her in the highest esteem so he wants nothing but the best for her and her two young sons. Atlas is dismayed by the news that she is being courted by the Marquess of Roxbury but he also knows the Marquess can offer her everything she deserves in life.  But will Lilliana agree with Atlas’s assessment?

Murder in Bloomsbury  is a fast-paced mystery with a charming cast of characters. Atlas is quite clever and his penchant for solving puzzles serves him well as he tries to unearth the truth about Gordon’s death. Lilliana is a strong and independent woman who knows her own mind and does not hesitate to go after what she wants. D.M. Quincy brings the setting and time period vividly to life. An absolutely delightful addition to the Atlas Catesby series that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Atlas and Lilliana’s next adventure.

1 Comment

Filed under Atlas Catesby Series, Crooked Lane Books, DM Quincy, Murder in Bloomsbury, Mystery, Rated B, Review

Review: Murder in Mayfair by D.M. Quincy

Title: Murder in Mayfair by D.M. Quincy
Atlas Catesby Series Book One
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Genre: Historical, Mystery
Length: 304 pages
Book Rating: B

Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley

Summary:

In 1814, Atlas Catesby, a brilliant adventurer and youngest son of a baron, is anxious to resume his world travels after being injured in a carriage accident in London. But his plans are derailed when, passing through a country village, he discovers a helpless woman being auctioned off to the highest bidder–by her husband.

In order to save her from being violated by another potential buyer, Atlas purchases the lady, Lilliana, on the spot to set her free. But Lilliana, desperate to be with her young sons and knowing the laws of England give a father all parental rights, refuses to be rescued–until weeks later when her husband is murdered and Atlas is the only one who can help clear her name of the crime.

Fortunately, Atlas is a master at solving complicated puzzles, with games as well as the intricacies of human motivation, and finds himself uniquely suited to the task, despite the personal peril it may put him in. But soon Altas learns the dead man had many secrets–and more than a few enemies willing to kill to keep them quiet–in Murder in Mayfair, the first in a new historical mystery series by D. M. Quincy.

Review:

With a cast of eclectic characters, an intriguing murder and a wonderful setting, Murder in Mayfair, the first release in D.M. Quincy’s Atlas Catesby series, is a marvelous mystery set in 1814 England.

Atlas Catesby’s zest for adventure usually keeps him far from home, but he has been sidelined for months while waiting for an injury to heal.  When he and his good friend, the Earl of Charlton Gabriel Young stop for a meal, Atlas chivalrously steps in to rescue Lilliana Warwick when her odious husband Godfrey sells her at a public auction.  He then takes her to his sister Thea Palmer’s home and they begin to brainstorm how to permanently reunite Lilliana with her two young sons, Peter and Robin. Godfrey continues to be a thorn in her side as he attempts to force her to return to their country home. After Atlas discovers Godfrey’s corpse, he becomes Bow Street runner Ambrose Endicott’s prime suspect when the death is ruled a homicide.  Uncertain whether Endicott is pursuing the case with enough vigor, Catesby turns amateur sleuth in order to unmask the killer.

Atlas is quite intelligent with a penchant for solving puzzles.  He is growing increasingly restless as his recovery takes much longer than he originally anticipated. He is rather forward thinking for the time period as he eschews  many  of society’s rules and champions women’s rights.  Atlas is unable to leave behind his guilt from a long ago tragedy and he cannot resist stepping in when he witnesses a damsel in distress.

Lilliana is a bit mysterious as she reveals as little as possible about herself to her new acquaintances. She is fiercely devoted to her sons and she will do anything to maintain contact with them.  Despite her untenable marriage, Lilliana is a strong, resilient woman who refuses to let fear prevent her confronting her vile husband when she needs to.

During his investigation into Godfrey’s murder, Atlas discovers there are many people who have good reason to kill the despicable man. Topping the list is the mysterious man who was recently involved in a physical altercation with Godrey not long before the murder.  But with only a vague description of a man wearing distinctive ring, Atlas’s efforts to locate him are quickly stalled. Another clue leads Atlas to a local tailor with a secret to keep but would he kill Godfrey in order to silence him? Atlas also discovers that Godfrey recently had a falling out with his only friend but is this a motive for murder?

Murder in Mayfair is an enthralling mystery with a fascinating storyline and an interesting cast of characters. The slow build up to Godfrey’s murder provides D.M. Quincy with ample opportunity to develop the various characters and the storyline. Atlas’s investigation reveals a vast pool of suspects who have viable motives for murder, but which one of them is the killer? The novel hurtles to an absolutely stunning conclusion as Atlas finally uncovers the jaw-dropping truth about Godfrey’s murderer.  A wonderful beginning to the Atlas Catesby series that is sure to delight fans of historical mysteries.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

1 Comment

Filed under Atlas Catesby Series, Contemporary, Crooked Lane Books, DM Quincy, Historical, Murder in Mayfair, Mystery, Rated B, Review